A Company or Group Admin can edit the settings for invitations and registration for their Smarp group and domain. The invitation and registration settings are set on a group-level, meaning that each group on Smarp can have their own policy and settings regarding how users can join their group.
To find the Invitations & Registration settings in Smarp, click on the Settings tab in the menu bar. Then, if you are a Company Admin, you first have to navigate to the correct group for which you want to edit the invitation and registration settings. A group admin will see only their own group's settings and can therefore click directly on Invitations & Registration in the left-side list.
The invitations and registrations settings are divided into two main areas: permissions and email template for invitations. First let us look at permissions. There three parts of the permissions area that can be edited are:
Who can invite?
This section refers to who can invite new users to join your company Smarp domain. Here you can choose between two options:
- Only admins can invite: if this is selected, it means that only Company or Group Admins can invite new users to join Smarp. For instructions on how to invite users to Smarp, see here.
- Everyone can invite: if this is selected, it means that users will be able to invite their colleagues to join Smarp themselves. Admins will also be able to invite users to join with this option. Users can invite colleagues following these instructions.
Users will only be able to invite colleagues with certain email domains to ensure that they do not invite users from outside your organization. Admins can decide which email domains are allowed in the 'Email domains' field. Read below in this article's 'Email domains' section for more information.
Users can also receive points in Smarp for inviting colleagues. If you want to setup these points for your Smarp domain that has Groups enabled, please reach out to your dedicated Customer Success specialist from Smarp.
Can users self-register?
This section refers to if users are allowed or not allowed to register for an account themselves to join your company Smarp domain. Here you can also choose between two options:
- Do not allow self-registration: if this is selected, it means that users cannot register for a Smarp account themselves but have to be invited to join.
- Allow self-registration: if this is selected, it means that users can register for a Smarp account themselves. Users can register following these instructions.
Users will only be able to register with certain email domains to ensure that people from outside your organization cannot register. Admins can decide which email domains are allowed in the 'Email domains' field. Read below in this article's 'Email domains' section for more information.
(Please note that if your company Smarp domain does not have Groups enabled, you will not see the 'Can users self-register' option, but if you have added any email domains in the 'Email domains' field then this means that you allow users to self-register using those domains.)
Email domains (used for 'Everyone can invite' and self-registration)
This section refers to which email domains users can self-register with or that other Smarp users can invite colleagues with. Here you can add all the email domains that the employees in your organization uses, so that everyone who should be allowed to access Smarp can have the option to.
If this field is blank but you have selected either 'Everyone can invite' or 'Allow self-registration' in the other fields, this means that users will see an error when they try to invite colleagues or register for an account.
The email template are under the Invitations & Registration settings lets you create a default message that is sent with all invitations and add some information for users on how to use Smarp.
Adding an invitation message here will input it as a default message for all invitations sent from your company Smarp domain, also for invitations sent by users. Users who invite colleagues will not be able to edit the invitation message. If you as an Admin invites users to join your Smarp domain, you are able to edit the invitation messages when creating the invite.
The invited users will see the invitation message in the invitation email like this: