Please note that the Intergroup Accessibility-function is only visible if it has been enabled for your company Smarp domain. Reach out to your dedicated Customer Success specialist from Smarp for assistance.
By default, all Groups and channels in Smarp are visible to all the users in your Smarp domain, however there is a possibility to change these settings so Groups and their channels can be hidden from all or some other Groups in your Smarp domain. This is Intergroup Accessibility, or changing the cross-group viewing settings for some or all Groups in your domain.
To find the Intergroup Accessibility settings in Smarp, click on the Settings tab in the menu bar. Then, as a Company Admin, you first have to navigate to the correct group for which you want to edit the Intergroup Accessibility settings under Other Settings. Intergroup Accessibility settings are edited on a group-level, but only Company Admins are able to see the Other Settings option and edit these settings. Group Admins cannot see or edit these settings.
There are three possible options for your intergroup accessibility settings. Remember that you are always editing the settings per group, meaning the settings will affect only the users in the Group you are currently editing:
- All other Groups: users will see all other Groups and their channels in their feed and can freely subscribe to Public channels across Groups and be invited to join Private channels across Groups.
- No other Groups: users will only see their own Group's channels in their feed. Users will not see any other Groups or their channels. They cannot subscribe to or be invited to join any channel outside their own group.
- Selected Groups: here you can choose which Group's channels your users should see in their feed. You can, for example, choose to exclude one Group but allow others.
There are some important things to note about intergroup accessibility:
- Intergroup Accessibility overrides Essential, Default and Private Channel settings. This means even if a channel is marked as Essential for a Group, but that channel is in another Group for which the first Group doesn't have access to, users will not be subscribed to those channels.
- You cannot add or invite users to join your Channel if they don't have access to the Group in which your channel exists. If any users were subscribed before the Intergroup Accessibility feature and they no longer have access to the group where the channel is, they will be automatically unsubscribed from the channel.
- Group Admins and Channel Managers will be limited in the same way as users in a group are, meaning Group Admins in a group that cannot see other groups, will not be able to see other group's content either. However, Company admins will always be able to see all channels regardless of the intergroup accessibility settings.