- Public channels are visible to all in the channel list in Smarp. This means that any user in your company Smarp domain can find and subscribe to the channel and thus see content published in it.
- Private channels, on the other hand, are exactly what the name suggests – Private. They can only be seen by users invited to join the channel. Users without an invite to the channel are unable to find the channel in their channel list and therefore unable to subscribe to it and see content from that channel. Private channels enables you to create an environment that contains information meant only for certain users or teams.
You can choose the visibility of your channel while you are creating it. There are some important things to note about setting the visibility for your channels:
- If a channel is set to Private during channel creation and no Channel Manager is assigned to it at the time of creation, the person who creates the channel will automatically become the Channel Manager for it. However, if an Admin assigns a Channel Manager to the Private channel while they are creating it but do not add themselves as a Channel Manager as well, the channel will not be visible to the Admin who created it when they click Create. Only the Channel Manager that was added during creation will see the channel.
- In short, a Private channel is also hidden from Company Admins unless they add themselves as Channel Managers during creation or are invited to join later by the Channel Manager they set for the channel.
- A Public channel that has already been created can be edited to change the visibility to Private, BUT a Private channel cannot be edited and changed to be Public.
The use of the Private channel feature works best jointly with Smarp's Channel Manager-feature, so feel free to reach out to your dedicated Customer Success specialist from Smarp for assistance in using the feature.