During the Configure-step of creating a post in Smarp, you should select at least one channel for your post and can set a language (if applicable) and campaign.
Furthermore, you are able to further configure some settings for your post to ensure that your users receive and see your content. Read more about these configurations below in their individual sections:
The Featured Post-function can be used if there is news or content that you as an Admin want to highlight for your users. If a post is marked as Featured it will appear at the top of the feed for users subscribed to the channel(s) the post was published in in your company Smarp domain.
You can select the Featured Post-function for a post when you are originally creating a post, when you are approving a Proposed post, or alternatively, when you are editing a post. You are also able to remove a post from being Featured by editing a post and unchecking the Featured Post box.
To enable the Featured Post-function, simply check the box in the 2nd step of the post creation flow for the post that you want to mark as Featured:
When the post is published, users will be able to see the post at the top of their feed in the Featured posts slider under the post creation bar. Only users who are subscribed to the channel(s) where you published the post will see the post.
After a while if you feel that your post should no longer be Featured, you are able to remove it from the Featured posts slider by editing the original post and unchecking the Featured post box. When the post is updated it will disappear from the Featured post slider. Alternatively, you can Archive the post or wait until it is pushed out by new Featured posts, as any of these will also remove the post from the slider.
If one of your Featured posts gets pushed back by new posts or pushed out and you want it back on the Featured post-slider, you can simply edit the original post and click Refresh next to the Featured post-box and Save your edited post. This will push your post back to the front of the slider.
Below you will find some important tips regarding the Featured post-function and how it works:
- The Featured Posts slider will only display the five most recent Featured posts. This is counted from when the posts were originally published. Admins do not have to remove Featured posts manually as older Featured posts are automatically pushed out if and when new posts are marked as Featured.
- The Featured posts will be displayed in chronological order in the slider. This is counted from when the posts were originally published or when a post is Refreshed.
- Users are able to navigate the slider by swiping, clicking the arrows or the dots in the slider. If a user clicks on a post in the slider, the post preview will open.
Internal reading/External sharing
When a post is published on Smarp, you as an Admin can decide which audience the post is for, that means if the post is for Internal reading or External sharing. A user who proposes a post can also suggest an audience option, but when you are reviewing a post for publication you can always change the audience.
The audience in Smarp refers to if the post is only to be viewed in Smarp or if users can share the post externally to social media. Depending on what option you choose, the post is displayed differently in Smarp:
A post which audience is selected as Internal reading will display with the green text For internal reading only under the post. There are no social media icons available so users cannot share the post externally. This option can be used for, for example, important internal company news.
A post which audience is selected as External sharing will show the social media icons under the post so that users are able to easily share the post externally. This option can be used for, for example, marketing content or advocacy content.
Notify users immediately
The Notify users immediately-function can be used for news that you as an Admin want to send out to your users immediately. This way, you do not have to wait until the next daily digest email for your users to receive the post, but can send them an instant notification via email and in-app at a moment's notice.
You can only select to Notify users immediately for a post when you are originally creating a post or when you are approving a Proposed post. This means that you cannot edit an already published post to add the Notify users immediately-function. You can also not Schedule a post when the Notify users immediately-function has been selected, as that will remove the instant notification and when your post is published according to your scheduling, a notification will not be sent out immediately.
To enable the Notify users immediately-function, simply check the box in the 2nd step of the post creation flow:
When the post is published, a notification will be sent out immediately to all users subscribed to the channel where the post is published. The notification will be sent via email and in-app.
You can distinguish the email notification from a regular daily digest email by the heading 'New instant post from Smarp'. Similarly, the in-app notification says that the post is important.
If the post contains information that all your Smarp users should know, you can combine the Notify users immediately-function with the Read confirmation-function to ensure that your users have read your post.
The Read confirmation-function can be used if there is news that you as an Admin want to make sure that your users have read. With Read confirmation, you can check how many and which users read your post, as users have to select that they have read it.
You can only select the Read confirmation-function for a post when you are originally creating a post, when you are approving a Proposed post, or alternatively, when you are editing a post.
To enable the Read confirmation-function, simply check the box in the 2nd step of the post creation flow:
When the post is published, users subscribed to the channel where you published the post will see a banner and frame that surrounds the post and the heading Read confirmation required, letting them know that they have to read and then select that they have read the post. If you want to see in more detail how the Read confirmation-function is displayed for users, see here.
When you want to see how many users have read the post, simply find the post on the feed and you can easily see how many users have read it under the post.
The number will tell you the amount of users who have read the post out of the total who should read it. This number is based on the number of people subscribed to the channel where the post was published.
If you want to get a more detailed report of the users who have or have not read your post, you can also export the list of users as a csv. file from the three dots in the right corner of the post. Please note that only the Admin who created the post is able to see the number of users who has read it and export the confirmation list.
The report will show you:
- The user's name and email
- The Read confirmation status, i.e. if they have read the post (Confirmed / Not confirmed)
- The Group and/or Team(s) that they belong to
If the post contains information that all your Smarp users should know immediately, you can combine the Read confirmation-function with the Notify users immediately-function to ensure that your users receive your post immediately when it is published.